Motorhomes, Campervans, Van Conversions and Caravans All Welcome
 
HomeHome  SearchforsitesSearchforsites  EventsEvents  FAQFAQ  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Thanks for visiting Motor-Homers.co.uk - Sponsored By Outsmart The Thief Ltd - A motorhome club owned by its members, Please register to join us for a chat - IT'S FREE TO JOIN ~~~~~ Your next Motor-Homers meet is: Marbury Park, Northwich, Cheshire, 23rd to 28th Aug 2018 ~~~~~ Please CLICK HERE to view all of our rallies in 2018
Latest topics
» Our George
by Ambilkate Sun 12 Aug 2018 - 12:19

» New Layout
by KSH Sun 5 Aug 2018 - 21:00

» motorhome vent
by KSH Sun 5 Aug 2018 - 20:31

» Events V Calendar
by elldwin Tue 31 Jul 2018 - 21:00

» Motorhome parking.
by tessajoe Mon 30 Jul 2018 - 14:32

» Whistling gypsy ( Bob and Barb)
by Ambilkate Mon 30 Jul 2018 - 8:45

» Haven Holidays Marton Mere
by debbie Thu 26 Jul 2018 - 10:12

» M6 closed jct 32 to 33
by Chameleon Thu 26 Jul 2018 - 10:07

» 6. Wilsthorpe Bridlington 8th to 18th July 2018
by KSH Sat 21 Jul 2018 - 22:40

» 5. Shrewsbury Food Festival - 21/6/18 - 25/6/18
by KSH Sat 21 Jul 2018 - 16:06

» BBQ
by Polly Thu 19 Jul 2018 - 21:25

» Newbies
by KSH Mon 16 Jul 2018 - 15:40

» Newbe
by Middle East driver Tue 10 Jul 2018 - 15:26

» Solar for sale
by debbie Tue 10 Jul 2018 - 9:35

» My 2018 Adventure
by Ambilkate Sat 7 Jul 2018 - 11:10

» 7. The Scotch Piper - 26/7/18 - 30/7/18 CANCELLED
by KSH Fri 6 Jul 2018 - 20:27

» Lost Operators Manual
by KSH Tue 3 Jul 2018 - 14:49

» How We Doing
by elldwin Mon 2 Jul 2018 - 7:04

» Cleaning up
by KSH Sat 30 Jun 2018 - 8:56

» Tom and Frank
by Polly Wed 27 Jun 2018 - 14:32

» How do I change my email address in Profile please
by KSH Tue 19 Jun 2018 - 15:36


Share | 
 

 Search and Rescue

Go down 
AuthorMessage
debbie


avatar

Posts : 589
Join date : 2013-03-01
Age : 66
Location : Carlisle

PostSubject: Search and Rescue   Sat 16 Jan 2016 - 11:54

This morning on radio 4, 0700hrs, the programme was about the "Search and Rescue" service, in the light of the phasing out of the "Sea King" helicopter, this year. A fascinating insight into the work of the service, and the pilots love of this old workhorse. The service is also transferring into civilian control, which in my very humble opinion is not a good thing. I suspect that most of the pilots will be ex forces pilots who are trained to an incredibly high standard, but one alarming fact that came out, was the government training standard was set at 1hr per month, but in the military, training is set a lot higher. Thankfully I have never had to use the service myself, has anybody on our forum had to? Be interesting to hear.
Back to top Go down
 
Search and Rescue
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Motor-Homers :: Community :: General Chit Chat-
Jump to: